Day #2a – Title Page

There will be a longer post later today, documenting my first-ever session with Mead Hunter, the brilliant genius editor and script-fixer-upper extraordinaire I have on retainer since I’m just that badass.  But it seemed like you might need to have at least this sketchy level of information for stuff to make sense to you.  So here (without any of my obsessively-selected fonts, more’s the pity) is the title page of my script.  I KNOW!  Try to contain yourselves.  More later, both here and at the Fertile Ground blog, where I’ll be guest-blogging this afternoon.  Woot.

How the Light Gets In

By Claire Willett


You can add up the parts but you won’t have the sum
You can strike up the march, there is no drum
Every heart, every heart to love will come
but like a refugee.

Ring the bells that still can ring
Forget your perfect offering
There is a crack, a crack in everything –
That’s how the light gets in

–Leonard Cohen, “Anthem”

I woke up in darkness, surrounded by silence
Oh where, where have I gone?
I woke to reality losing its grip on me
Oh where, where have I gone?
‘Cause I can see the light
Before I see the sunrise

You called and you shouted
Broke through my deafness
Now I’m breathin’ in and breathin ‘out
I’m alive again
You shattered my darkness
Washed away my blindness
Now I’m breathin’ in and breathin’ out
I’m alive again

–Matt Maher, “Alive Again”

CAST OF CHARACTERS

MOLLY FOWLER Mid-20’s; a tattooed, sharp-tongued alcoholic.

BROTHER MAGNUS Mid-40’s; abbey librarian; handsome, intelligent and gentle.

BROTHER LEO Late 20’s; recently-ordained monk, boyish and all-American.

ABBOT GEORGE Early 60’s; Abbot of Saint Gabriel’s; mild-mannered but firm and kind.

FATHER PASCAL Early 50’s; the seminary’s Shakespeare professor; witty and urbane.

BROTHER DOMINIC Late 40’s; Pascal’s brother.  Boisterous, rowdy and joyful.

FATHER JOHN Early 40’s, a celebrated author and pro-life activist; handsome but cold.

BROTHER STEPHEN Early 90’s, slightly addled and prone to outbursts.

HALEY MITCHELL 14; Magnus’ precocious and feisty niece.

JEREMY ROTH Molly’s deadbeat boyfriend.

RAY FOWLER Molly’s ex-con father.

SETTING

Saint Gabriel Abbey & Seminary, outside Portland, Oregon.  Present day.

Leave a Reply

