Day #7 – SONG OF THE DAY: “Hold Us Together”

Periodically I’ll run by you, O interweb family, songs I’m thinking of working into the reading.  Here’s one I LOVE LOVE LOVE and am discerning whether or not to use as the closing/curtain call music . . . give it a listen and tell me what you think.

This is the new most-played song on my iTunes.   Matt Maher is an amazing singer/songwriter/worship leader and a lovely, faithful, funny guy who I’ve met a number of times in my other persona as a Catholic youth minister.  It can be really tough for Catholic artists to achieve mass crossover appeal in the mainstream Christian music market, and Matt is really the first to do that in a big way.  This song, “Hold Us Together,” is from his most recent Album Alive Again, which just came out like a month ago, and I have been going crazy with love for it ever since.  And actually before.  Matt is friends with my roommate Jenny and sent her a top-secret advance copy which we listened to nonstop all summer.  OMG.

Lyrics below.  Enjoy!

Hold Us Together

It don’t have a job
It don’t pay all your bills
Won’t buy you a home in Beverly Hills
Won’t fix your life
In five easy steps
Ain’t the law of the land
Or the government
But it’s all you need

And love will hold us together
Make us a shelter
To weather the storm
And I’ll be my brother’s keeper
So the whole world will know
That we’re not alone

It’s waiting for you
Knocking at your door
In the moment of truth
When your heart hits the floor
And you’re on your knees

And love will hold us together
Make us a shelter
To weather the storm
And I’ll be my brother’s keeper
So the whole world will know
That we’re not alone

This is the first day
Of the rest of your life
This is the first day
Of the rest of your life
‘Cause even in the dark
You can still see the light
It’s going to be alright
It’s going to be alright

And love will hold us together
Make us a shelter
To weather the storm
And I’ll be my brother’s keeper
So the whole world will know
That we’re not alone

5 thoughts on “Day #7 – SONG OF THE DAY: “Hold Us Together”

  1. i love it! my husband and i are both in ministry with a baby on the way and money is tight, this is our new “love song!”

  2. You know, I am not someone who is big into christian music, I listen mainly when my girls are in the car, but this, this is one of those songs that while I can’t put my finger on why, just resonates with me, and I love hearing it.

Leave a Reply

